CiTR & the Gillar Prize! Live at 8:30 a.m. TODAY!


September 16, 2013, The Scotiabank Giller Prize today announces its longlist for this year’s award from the Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia.

CiTR is proud to carry this event live for its listeners worldwide, starting at 8:30 a.m. (PST) on Monday morning.  The event is co-hosted by UBC’s Creative Writing Program and the Vancouver Writers Fest.  This is the 20th anniversary of the Giller Prize and the 50th anniversary of UBC’s distinguished Creative Writing Program.

Esi Edugyan,  author and 2013 Giller juror will present the 13 titles that were chosen from a field of 147 books, submitted by 61 publishers from every region of the country.

Edugyan’s fellow jurors this year are Canadian writer Margaret Atwood and American author Jonathan Lethem.

The longlist for the 20th anniversary of the Scotiabank Giller Prize is:

  • Dennis Bock for his novel Going Home Again, published by HarperCollins Canada
  • Joseph Boyden for his novel The Orenda, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada
  • Lynn Coady for her short story collection Hellgoingpublished by House of Anansi Press
  • Craig Davidson for his novel Cataract City, published by Doubleday Canada
  • Elisabeth De Mariaffi for her short story collection How To Get Along With Women, published by Invisible Publishing
  • David Gilmour for his novel Extraordinary, published by Patrick Crean Editions
  • Wayne Grady for his novel Emancipation Day, published by Doubleday Canada
  • Louis Hamelin for his novel October 1970, translated by Wayne Grady and published by House of Anansi Press
  • Wayne Johnston for his novel The Son of a Certain Woman, published by Knopf Canada
  • Claire Messud for her novel The Woman Upstairs, published by Knopf Canada
  • Lisa Moore for her novel Caught, published by House of Anansi Press
  • Dan Vyleta for his novel The Crooked Maid, published by HarperCollins Canada
  • Michael Winter for his novel Minister Without Portfolio, published by Hamish Hamilton Canada