The Jazz Show Episode October 15, 2012

Broadcast on 15-Oct-2012

9:05pm - 11:59pm

Tonight's Feature is a true Jazz summit meeting. It took place in a New York studio for United Artists Records on September 17,1962. The people involved are Duke Ellington on piano, Charles Mingus on bass and Max Roach on drums. All the compositions are by Duke Ellington and they are all newly created for this date with two exceptions: Juan Tizol's and Ellington's "Caravan" and Ellington's and Eddie DeLange's "Solitude". This amazing meeting is now considered a truly classic encounter and I think you, the listener will agree!

Track Listing:

Soft Winds
Art Blakey · The Jazz Messengers
The Theme
At The Cafe Bohemia
Minor's Holiday
Alone Together
Prince Albert
A Baptist Beat
Cory Weeds · Up A Step
Straight No Filter
Toshiko Akiyoshi · The Akiyoshi/Tabackin
Big Band
Jazz Feature:
Very Special
Duke Ellington · Money Jungle
Fleurette Africaine
Money Jungle
Warm Valley
Wig Wise
Switch Blade
A Little Max
REM Blues
Backward Country Boy