Mix Cassette Episode July 17, 2019


8:00pm - 9:00pm

Bonjour tout le monde - My apologies for the delay in updating the show, as I have been moving across Turtle Island on my way to Montreal - just landed! And it is spectacular. We have a wonderful show tonight with amazing acoustics, reggae riddims, super sonics, and immaculate vocals (as hoped!); we begin with a beautiful acoustic medley from Portishead off of their last amazing record 'Third' (hoping for another, because they usually set wonderful standards), followed by a couple of lovers rock reggae classics c / o Johnny Osbourne and Gregory Isaacs, respectively(!), and a swirling, great, new addition from Vanishing Twin off of their new lp 'The Age of Immunology'; next, we get into some deep acoustic, boom-bap, and techno tracks, starting with amazing Brazilian singer-songwriter work from the late and great João Gilberto, followed by a nice new track from the always interesting and layered Only a Visitor, a chill, well executed, trap R&B cut from Planet Giza, one of my favourite songs of 2019 c/o Tyler, The Creator, Thom Yorke with the return to solo-form, a wicked new ambient house track from Anthony Naples (great record too!), and a deep cut and shout out to M.I.A. we close with Symmetry taking us to the cosmos, and a bonus gem that can bring us back to the 1992 - Please enjoy~~

Track Listing:

Deep Water
Portishead · Dummy
Ready Or Not
Johnny Osbourne · Ready Or Not
My Only Lover
Gregory Isaacs · More Gregory
Magician's Success
Vanishing Twin · The Age Of Immunology
João Gilberto · O Amor, o Sorriso e a Flor
Big and Small
Only a Visitor · Technicolour Education
Planet Giza · Added Sugar
Tyler, The Creator · IGOR
I Am a Very Rude Person
Thom Yorke · ANIMA
I'll Follow You
Anthony Naples · Fog FM
M.I.A. · ///Y/
Cruise Control
Symmetry · Music To Drive
Damn I Wish I Was Your Lover
Sophie B. Hawkins · Tongues and Tails